Alaska Appraisal State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers.
The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Appraisal Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred in the Administrative Code.
Levels of Licensure :
- Registered Trainee
- General Real Estate Appraiser
- Residential Real Estate Appraiser
- Institutional Real Estate Appraiser (see note below)
NOTE: The Institutional Real Estate Appraiser is an appraiser who is employed full-time by a financial institution with offices in the state. An institutional appraiser may not perform real estate appraisal services for the general public or for a fee other than the salary the person receives as a full-time employee of a financial institution.
- Must not have committed any crimes of moral turpitude
- Meet the educational requirement of the applicant's licensure level
- Meet the experience requirement (if applicable) of the applicant's licensure level
- For Certified Residential level: Provide proof of satisfactory completion of either a 2 year associates degree or higher, OR a total of 21 semester hours consisting of: English Composition; Principles of Economics, (either Macro or Micro); Finance; Algebra; Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and either Business Law or Real Estate Law
- For Certified General level: Provide proof of satisfactory completion of either a 4 year bachelors degree or higher, OR a total of 30 semester hours consisting of: English Composition; Micro Economics, Macro Economics; Finance; Algebra; Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and either Business Law or Real Estate Law. Also must include any 2 or the following courses: Accounting; Geography; Agricultural Economics; Business Management. Or Real Estate
- Take and pass the state examination
- Submit application and assoicated fees
On February 20, 2004, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that went into effect on January 1, 2008. These changes represent the minimum national requirements that each state must implement for individuals applying for a real estate appraiser license or certification as of January 1, 2008. The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria provides in depth information on the new criteria and may be accessed by clicking the hyperlink or is available on The Appraisal Foundation website. The educational hour requirements for AK are:
- 75 hours for the Registered Trainee classification which consist of the following courses:
- Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
- Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
- The 15 Hur National USPAP course or its equivalent (15 hours)
- 200 hours for the Residential Real Estate Appraiser
- 300 hours for the General Real Estate Appraiser classification.
Applicants shall list their appraisal experience on the application provided by the Board.
- Registered Trainee are not required to have experience. Trainees must work under the direct supervision of an appraiser who is licensed in good standing as a certified appraiser.
- Residential Real Estate Appraiser must have have a minimum of 2,500 hours of experience within 24 months.
- General Real Estate Appraiser must have have a minimum if 3,000 hours of experience within 30 months. At least 1,500 hours of the appraisal work must be in nonresidential appraisal work.
Continuing Education Requirements:
- At the time of certificate renewal, an applicant for renewal who has been certified for 24 months or more must provide documentation of satisfactory completion of 28 hours of continuing education.
- If the applicant has been licensed for 12 months or more, but less than 24 months, he/she must provide documentation of satisfactory completion of 14 hours of continuing education.
- All licensees must take the 7 hour USPAP Update course or course equivalent during each renewal cycle
- All certificates expire on June 30 of odd-numbered years, regardless of when issued, except certificates issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued through the next biennium.