Florida Appraisal State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board.
We recommend that you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any law or regulation changes which may have occurred.
Levels of Licensure:
- Registered Trainee Appraiser
- Certified Residential Appraiser
- Certified General Appraiser
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Submit proof of completion of the educational requirements for each level of licensure
- Submit proof of completion of the experience requirements for each level of licensure
- For Certified Residential level: Provide proof of satisfactory completion of either a 2 year associates degree or higher, OR a total of 21 semester hours consisting of: English Composition; Principles of Economics, (either Macro or Micro); Finance; Algebra; Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and either Business Law or Real Estate Law
- For Certified General level: Provide proof of satisfactory completion of either a 4 year bachelors degree or higher, OR a total of 30 semester hours consisting of: English Composition; Micro Economics, Macro Economics; Finance; Algebra; Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and either Business Law or Real Estate Law. Also must include any 2 or the following courses: Accounting; Geography; Agricultural Economics; Business Management. Or Real Estate
- Pass the state examination (Trainees are not required to take a state exam)
- Submit application, required documents (including fingerprint card), and associated fees
On February 20, 2004, the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation adopted changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that went into effect on January 1, 2008. These changes represent the minimum national requirements that each state must implement for individuals applying for a real estate appraiser license or certification as of January 1, 2008. The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and Interpretations of the Criteria provides in depth information on the new criteria and may be accessed by clicking the hyperlink or is available on The Appraisal Foundation website. The educational hour requirements for FL are:
- 100 hours for the Registered Trainee Appraiser which consists of the following courses:
- Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
- Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
- The 15 Hour National USPAP course or its equivalent (15 hours)
- Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours) which shall include the Florida laws and rules and Roles and Responsibilities of Supervisors and Trainees.
- 200 hours for the State Certified Residential Appraiser
- 300 hours for State Certified General Appraiser
- Registered Trainee Appraiser - no work experience requirement
- Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser - 2500 hours in over at least 24 months since the first appraisal
- Certified General Real Property Appraiser - 3000 hours in over at least 30 months since the first appraisal
Post License Requirements:
- All trainee appraisers that wish to remain in the trainee category must complete 45 hours of post-licensing education inclusive of the 15 hour USPAP course or its equivalent and the 3 hour Florida Law Update
- This requirement must be completed by the second renewal period following the issuance of the license
- All licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education
- These hours must include the 7 hour USPAP Update
- A minimum of 3 hours must be dedicated to a review and update of the FL Real Estate Appraisal Law and Board Rules, and provide an introduction to other state and federal laws affecting real estate appraisals.
- As of 12/1/06, the minimum 30 hours must also include 3 hour reviewing and updating roles and rules of supervisor and trainee appraisers.