Idaho Real Estate State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Idaho Real Estate Commission.
The information provided below can be found on the Commission's website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Commission for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
- Submit Proof of high school diploma or equivalent.
- Submit fingerprints (IREC needs to have the results returned from the FBI before we can accept an application.)
- Education for the type of license they are applying for. Idaho requires successful completion of 90 hours of Prelicense Education for sales licensure which include the Module 1 and Module 2 courses (NOTE: Courses are only valid for 5 years from the completion date. You must apply for your license within that timeframe.)
- For broker licensure, Idaho requires an additional 90 hours of advanced broker education to include Real Estate Law, Brokerage Management, and two elective courses in different subject areas of at least 20 hours each. National institute level courses consisting of at least 20 hours may be accepted as satisfying one of the four broker courses if it does not duplicate the subject matter covered by any of the other courses. (NOTE: Courses are only valid for 5 years from the completion date. You must apply for your license within that timeframe.)
Idaho has a reciprocal license agreement with the following states:
- Alberta (Canada), Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas Missouri, Montana*, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon*, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming*.
- Business may be located in any jurisdiction. Idaho CE credit will be accepted for the license recognition jurisdiction except in Missouri. Contact the reciprocal jurisdiction for more information about licensing in that state.
*The Idaho reciprocal license issued is contingent upon keeping the license in the primary state in good standing and must be the same type in both states. If reciprocally licensed by Idaho, you can NOT have a place of business in Idaho but must work from the office in the reciprocal state. Idaho CE credit will be accepted in the reciprocal jurisdictions. Contact the reciprocal state for more information about licensing in that state.
License Effective July 1, 2003 and after:
- Complete up to 20 hours of state approved CE courses every 2 years.
- These courses must include a Mandatory CE CORE COURSE (as prescribed annually by IREC) which is typically between 1 and 4 hours in length.
The other 16 hours are elective courses.
All sales agents renew every 2 years in the month of their birth.
Once a course is taken, it may not be repeated in that same renewal cycle.