Utah Real Estate State Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the Utah Real Estate Division.
The information provided below can be found on the Division's website. However, we recommend you contact the Real Estate Division for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
Sales Agent license:
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency
- Have at a minimum a High School diploma or its equivalent.
- Take 90 hours of approved education
- Take and pass the Sales Agent state exam
- Submit two fingerprint cards or receipt of electronic fingerprint submission and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center).
- Submit application and associated fees
- Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. ( Note: An applicant does NOT qualify for a real estate license if he or she has any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.)
- Have at least three years of real estate experience.
- Accumulate a total of at least 60 points within the five years proceeding application.
- Take 120 hours of approved education consisting of:
- 12 hours Broker Management
- 24 hours Advanced Appraisal
- 24 hours Advanced Finance
- 24 hours Property Management
- 24 hours Advanced Real Estate Law
- 12 hours Utah License Law
- Take and pass the Broker exam.
- Submit a signed and notarized Broker Experience Documentation Form showing at least three years of qualifying experience.
- Submit a completed and signed Broker Transaction Log or Broker Property Management Log showing at least 60 experience points within the five years proceeding application.
- Submit a signed and notarized Broker Verification Form completed by each Broker with whom the applicant has affiliated during the five years proceeding application.
- Submit application and associated fees.
- Complete 12 hours of state approved CE courses during every 2 year renewal cycle.
- This includes a mandatory 6 hour "core" course
- The other 6 hours are elective CE courses.
- All sales agents renew every 2 years in the month that they license in.