Appraisal Answers: What are The Different Levels of Appraiser?

Real Answers to Real Student Questions

Level 1 Appraisal Trainee:

This level is the beginning level for a career in appraisal. There is no prerequisite experience at this level.

To "qualify" to become an Appraisal Trainee, a person must complete the required education: 75 hours of state-approved coursework usually consisting of Basic Appraisal Principles, Basic Appraisal Procedures and the 15-hour USPAP.

This level is also referred to as Registered Appraiser, Apprentice Appraiser or Beginning Appraiser. As an Appraisal Trainee, you must be under the direct supervision of a Certified Appraiser at all times.

To see the list of states for which CWS offers Qualifying Appraisal Education, Click Here.

Level 2 Licensed Residential Appraiser:

In some states this level of appraiser is referred to as a Licensed Appraiser. Prerequisites include: Additional 75 hours of education is required to reach this level as well as 2,000 hours of experience accrued in no less than a year.

Candidates must also pass an AQB-approved Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser exam. As of 2015, 30 hours of college-level coursework will also be required to qualify for this level.

Licensed Residential Appraisers can provide unsupervised appraisals of non-complex residential properties that are 1 to 4 units, less than $1 million and also complex 1 to 4 unit residential properties whose market value falls below $250K.

Level 3 Certified Residential Appraiser:

As with a career in real estate, appraisers don't have to keep a strict 9-5 schedule. This can be beneficial for parents who require flexible schedules.

Prerequisites include: A minimum of 200 hours of appraisal education and training, including 15 hours of ethics and standards of practice, 2,500 hours of experience in appraisal and the successful completion of Level B licensing examination.

As of 2015, a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution will be required as a prerequisite for the Certified Residential Appraiser level (also referred to as the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser).

Level 4 Certified General Appraiser:

Achievement of this highest level of appraiser is required in order to perform appraisals unsupervised on commercial properties.

To become a Certified General Appraiser, a person must have 300 (minimum) hours of appraisal education and training, 3,000 hours (including 1,500 hours non-residential) of appraisal experience and successfully complete and pass the Level C certification examination. This level also requires that the candidate have a bachelor's degree.


Browse Our
Appraisal Courses

Sign Up For
Our Newsletter

Information Center

Appraisal Trainee

    75 hours of education
    Must be under supervision of Certified Appraiser

Licensed Residential Appraiser

    Additional 75 hours of education + 2,000 experience hours
    As of 2015, 30 hours of college coursework

Certified Residential Appraiser

    200 hours of education (including 15 hours of ethics and standards of practice) + 2,500 hours of experience
    As of 2015, bachelor's degree

Certified General Appraiser

    300 hours of education + 3,000 experience hours (including 1,500 non-residential)
    Bachelor's degree